The Fate Of The Milletians

Hello, so among the many ideas that are currently going through my head as for what I want to do, I decided to lightly, just lightly revive something that I’m pretty passionate about which is my game series. I’ve recently revealed that I am a big fan of all things anime/light novel related and as for the topic regarding whether I think they are on the same level as traditional sources for novel mediums or in other words whether they hold the same value as books, well, in short, yes. But that’s for another day. Right now, it’s all about games. Despite what most people don’t know, or perhaps, in this day and age, what most people are discovering, games actually do have a vivid story. Most of them, not all. And some are yet to be found, let’s just leave it at that. Today this short story, or more appropriately to most people, this “Fan Fiction”, and oh god, I hate using that word. You know, today is just not the day to be talking about these things. I just….. no. Let’s just leave it at short story. Today’s short story is about a MMORPG(I was planning to leave what it’s abbreviated for, but you know, I think that’s a little, just a little cliche, but I’l Massive Multiplayer Online Role Playing Game) called “Mabinogi”. It’s in short a very fun (My opinion) sandbox game. In other words, a perfect fantasy life. But with how things are this game is very cheery, I mean, if you just glance at it’s art style, and pretty much most screenshots, you will see a bright tone. A very vibrant bright art style appealing to kids (I’m a kid at heart, always will be). But the story you find yourself versed inside of this world can be very dark, filled with betrayal, tragedy, and many other themes that contrast with it’s colors. I found myself versed within the story lines and I actually haven’t played much of Mabinogi to be honest but this short story that I found based on it that I made back when I did really tells a lot. I wouldn’t call it a parody or satire, but it definitely has this macabre humor that I haven’t really tried that often. But enough rambling, phew, here you guys go, and yes you can still read this without having played the game. I feel like an outsider will just be, you know, just that much more shocked I guess. But let’s see what you guys think. Here it is, “The Fate Of The Milletians”.

My head was spinning, my vision was blurry, and my memory was fazed. I got up slowly, I had no idea where I was. I looked up, the sky was blue and clear. Suddenly a gust of wind blew across my face and the scent of flowers followed thereafter. I yawned and rubbed my eyes. I looked around my surroundings. I was sitting on a bed of grass, and a few trees were surrounding the area. I was in a grassy plain area. I can’t seem to recall what had happened, but I checked what was on my person. I had some basic clothing, and a sword. I got up slowly but my balance was off. I regained my balance slowly and decided to find my bearings.

There was a large overbearing gate to the north, and to my south I could faintly see a village. I decided to head to the village, but I soon encountered trouble. I was surrounded on all sides by brown dire wolves. Their fur was flowing in the wind and they growled at me. Saliva was dripping from their sharp teeth and they gave me a ferocious look. When I looked closely, I saw blood stains on their teeth. They circled around me, there was five of them. I inspected the sword in my hand. It was slightly damaged, but I could do it.

Suddenly, they charged at me. I went after the one in front of me and swung horizontally at it. It hit and the wolf was sent back. I quickly turned around and slashed a wolf horizontally as it leapt at me. The wolf hit the ground with a satisfying thump. I turned around again and stabbed another wolf that was charging at me. My blade stuck into the hide of the wolf and I forcefully pulled it out leaving the wolf to lay on the ground.

Suddenly a ting of pain  enveloped my entire body, I looked down to see a wolf gnawing at my leg. I drove my sword into its back but it didn’t let go.  It bit harder and harder as my sword drove through its skin. Then another wolf came and bit my other leg, I quickly pulled out my sword, the first wolf had fallen. But there was a problem, both my legs at this point had been severely injured and I could hardly stand.

The wolf let go and I fell to my knees. A large pool of blood formed and the wolf came for my right arm. The one with my sword. I flailed frantically but couldn’t push it off. The wolf then sunk it’s teeth even deeper into my arms as the sound of my flesh being ripped apart resounded within my ears.. My arm soon flopped down as the wolf let go of its bite. My body slowly fell and as I was lying on that blood stained  grass, the remaining  brown wolf began nibbling away at my body. I was losing vision, and suddenly, It all went black.

My head was spinning, my vision was blurry, and my memory was fazed. I got up slowly, I had no idea where I was. I looked up, the sky was blue and clear. Suddenly a gust of wind blew across my face and the scent of flowers followed thereafter. I yawned and rubbed my eyes. I looked around my surroundings. I was sitting on a bed of grass, and a few trees were surrounding the area. I was in a grassy plain area. I can’t seem to recall what had happened, but I checked what was on my person. I had some basic clothing. I got up slowly but my balance was off. I regained my balance slowly and decided to find my bearings.

There was a large overbearing gate to the north, and to my south I could faintly see a village. I decided to head to the village, but I soon encountered trouble. I was surrounded on all sides by brown dire wolves. Their fur was flowing in the wind and they growled at me. Saliva was dripping from their sharp teeth and they gave me a ferocious look. When I looked closely I could see large blood stains on one of the wolves teeth. One of them had a huge snack, and it was lusting for more blood. There was five of them, and I saw a sword that was a little ways in the grass in front of me.

Suddenly they charged at me, I rushed over to the sword and grabbed it. But I was too slow. One of the wolves bit into my leg, and I quickly drove the blade into its hide. With my other leg I kicked it away. I knelt down on one leg. The wound was pretty large, but there was still four of them after me. One leapt towards me and pushed me on my back. I used my arms to keep it at a distance as it violently tried to rip my face apart. It’s breath was painstaking and it’s saliva was dripping onto my face. I managed to exert enough force to push it off, but the rest of the pack came onto me.

As I was pinned down on the grass, one of the wolves ripped my arm apart. The others worked on my legs. And the last wolf, the one who had large stains on its teeth, ripped open my stomach. I couldn’t see much as my vision at this point was getting blurry. Suddenly,it all went black.

My head was spinning, my vision was blurry, and my memory was fazed. I got up slowly, I had no idea where I was. I looked up, the sky was blue and clear. Suddenly a gust of wind blew across my face and the scent of flowers followed thereafter. I yawned and rubbed my eyes. I looked around my surroundings. I was sitting on a bed of grass, and a few trees were surrounding the area. I was in a grassy plain area. I can’t seem to recall what had happened, but I checked what was on my person. I had some basic clothing. I got up slowly but my balance was off. I regained my balance slowly and decided to find my bearings.

There was a large overbearing gate to the north, and to my south I could faintly see a village. I decided to head to the village, but I soon encountered trouble. I was surrounded on all sides by brown dire wolves. Their fur was covered in blood and they growled at me.  Saliva was dripping from their sharp teeth and they gave me a ferocious look. Large blood stains were evident and it seemed they had a lust for blood. There was five of them and I could see a set of clothes and a sword in the distance.

Suddenly they charged at me, I rushed over to grab the sword, but I was too slow. One of the wolves bit into my leg, pinning me down. It tore apart my leg in a matter of seconds and I was rendered immobile. The rest of the wolves came to feast upon my helpless body. My vision was getting blurry as I lay flat down on the blood stained grass. Suddenly, it all went black.

My head was spinning, and I heard chewing. I couldn’t feel my body. My eyes finally adjusted and I looked around. My head couldn’t move, but I could see a dark red wolf eating something. Upon further inspection, I noticed it was my leg it was eating. The rush of pain soon entered my body, but I couldn’t scream. I simply stared at the wolf, and soon after four more had joined it. My arms, legs, and torso came to be a favorite of the wolves.

As my vision became blurry, an image of a woman came to me. She was wearing a white dress and had dark wings. She told me in an angelic voice.

“This, is the fate of the Milletian.”

Leave a Reply

