Just Another Day

Hello once again and today we are still on the Mabinogi train, I’m currently working on another Game Based Story….. that’s a mouthful. I’m working on another spin-off…. that’s… you know what? That might work. Let’s leave it at that. I’ll be working on another spin-off, with a game that is pretty much one of the best narrative gems out on the gaming world from the past few years. At least, that’s how I take it, because this game breaks all convention bounds, and pretty much defines it’s own way to tell a narrative. With all due respect to that game, my story is going to be heavily based on a “Play through” of the game. We’ll be following the main character (Whoever that may be…..) and explore this sundered and distraught world that the game developers have created for us. But since I also want some “truth” to the story I’ll have to do some research and take a bit of time to get everything in line, but hopefully I will have something soon and if not, then, well…. we’ll see then. For now, enjoy, here it is (Oh and this one is another strange one, and if you have read the last Mabinogi-related story, then you will see a trend…. hmmm), “Just Another Day”.

It was a beautiful day, the sun was shining brightly and the air had the sweet scent of sunflowers. I walked lazily along the stone covered pathway as I headed towards the old blacksmith, Ferghus. Out here in Tir Chonnail things were peaceful. I once heard stories of war and turmoil within this land, but the one thing I know for sure, is that right now, It’s at peace.

I soon arrived at the old blacksmith’s forgery just outside of Tir Chonnail and greeted him with a wide grin on my face. He did the same and gave off a chuckle with his large belly while he smashed away on his anvil. I pressed up against a nearby tree and looked up into the clear sky. With days like these, the only thing I feel like doing is to just relax near Ferghus, for some reason the sound of his hammer puts me at ease. It’s a relaxing and reassuring sound, I haven’t figure out why, but it is.

Just for today, something unique happened. Ferghus had given me a request, he grabbed a finished sword and stuck it out at me. I was surprised, but I figured what he wanted me to do. He said in a hearty and loud voice.

“Hey, Yolvan, mind doing me a favor?”

“Sure, what is it?”

“I need you to deliver this to Ronald at the school, he’ll know what to do with it.”

“Alright.”

“Thanks!”

I took the sword from his hand, I immediately felt the weight as my shoulder was pulled towards the ground and I had to hold it with two hands. It was heavy all right, but it wasn’t a claymore. I inspected it more closely. It had a strange pattern across the side of the blade but other then that it should have been a regular short sword. I wasn’t sure what made it special, or why it was so heavy. I could carry any other regular sword no problem. Either way I went about my business and went to the school.

Just outside the building was Ronald slashing away on a few training dummies. I went up to him and he greeted me with a gentle voice.

“What brings you here?”

“Delivery, from Ferghus.”

“From that old man you say?”

I handed him the sword, and he grabbed it without trouble. Maybe I had just gotten weaker. He inspected the sword in the same manner as me, but had a more surprised look on his face. He was staring at the strange pattern across the side of the blade, I never really understood it either, it looked like a strange knot.  He remained wide eyed until I broke him out of it by asking him a question.

“What does that symbol mean?”

“Oh this, you don’t need to worry about that.”

“Why?”

“It’s something that doesn’t need explaining.”

I shrugged at the notion and turned around to return. But Ronald stopped me as he pulled his sword in front of me, blocking my path. He said with a stern voice.

“Don’t leave.”

“Hmmm?”

“They’re coming.”

“What?”

Suddenly the ground began rumbling. It was hard to keep balance, Ronald told me to get into the school. I was confused. Lassar had opened the door and began casting magic. What was going on?

“Hurry!” Ronald shouted.

I rushed into the school while Lassar had finished casting  a barrier around the perimeter. I didn’t understand what was going on, but I listened to them. Whatever it is, they’ll take care of it, I said to myself as a large explosion happened. I opened the door quickly, but all I saw was scorched grass and the bodies of Ronald and Lassar on the ground. A large looming shadow was cast over me and I looked up to see an abomination. It was a large creature with four arms, and two wings. It carried two large swords and had bandages wrapped around it’s arm. It’s eyes were covered in leather but it’s mouth was exposed and it showed it’s sharp teeth. It roared loudly and sent shivers down my spine. I didn’t know what to do. I was scared and couldn’t move a muscle. I was hopeless. And with a single lift of its arm and a single swing of its blades, it was all over.

It was a beautiful day, the sun was shining brightly and the air had the sweet scent of sunflowers. I walked lazily along the stone covered pathway as I headed towards the old blacksmith, Ferghus. Out here in Tir Chonnail, things were peaceful. I once heard stories of war and turmoil within this land, but the one thing I know for sure, is that right now, It’s at peace.

I soon arrived at the old blacksmith’s forgery just outside of Tir Chonnail and greeted him with a wide grin on my face. He did the same and gave off a chuckle with his large belly while he smashed away on his anvil. I pressed up against a nearby tree and looked up into the clear sky. Days like these, the only thing I feel like doing is to just relax near Ferghus, for some reason the sound of his hammer puts me to ease. It’s a relaxing and reassuring sound, I haven’t figure out why, but it is.

Just for today, something unique happened. Ferghus had given me a request, he grabbed a finished sword and stuck it out at me. I was surprised, but I figured what he wanted me to do. He said in a hearty and loud voice.

“Hey Hanes, mind doing me a favor?”

“Sure, what is it?”

Leave a Reply

