Friends of a Cat: Mark 1

Hello once again, it’s been a while, but I have been up and getting at it with a lot of things actually. But anyway, today’s main topic is yet another mini short series story thing. At this point, I’ve been really reeling it in with mini series, but it’s just that I can’t help myself. I don’t really want to cram all of this into one full fledged story since I feel like that would be like trying to force it down a person’s throat, so instead I decided to do a part’s mentality and just broke it up. This one is a work in progress, but I’m still working on it bit by bit and it’s almost finished. I was still conflicted with whether I wanted to do a full release, but for now I’m going to do a part by part since it is almost finished anyway. But enough with that, here is a new mini-series, “Friends of a Cat:Mark 1″(Yes I’m not calling it a”part” or a “chapter”).

It was a humid day, just like any other. Well, not like any other. It was actually one of the rare days when the humidity was that high. I remember it, like any other day. I was coming back from school, when my cat, “Chi-Chi” came to greet me a few blocks away from home. I had no idea how she got out of the house, but there she was on the streets, waiting for me. Except she wasn’t alone. On the streets with Chi-Chi, was a boy. I had never really seen him before. He looked, so sad at the time. Or at least, that’s how my eyes saw him. He was the same age as me, but, went to another school. He had long black hair, but, it wasn’t that long, since he tied it up behind him. He didn’t really have anything to hide it either. He wore his ponytail like it was a part of him. And he looked really skinny too. Perhaps, that’s why he seemed so fragile.

He was playing with my cat when I first saw them. He seemed so happy, but there was a glint of sadness in his eyes, that I just couldn’t ignore. I called out to him first, well to be more precise, I called out to my cat.

“Hey! Chi-Chi! What are you doing out here?” Upon calling her name, she sprung out from his arms and ran towards me. She curled up near my legs, and that was when our eyes met. He was leaning down, and chased the cat, until he noticed me. His eyes followed up, while mines went down. His eyes, were brown, but at the time, they looked so red. We looked at each other like this, for about ten seconds until both of us realized that we were staring, and looked away on instinct.

“Um…. hello?” I spoke first. It was… weak, but something. At least, it was something.

“Oh, hi. Sorry, was that your cat?” And he spoke back. With more confidence than I ever could muster. His voice was clear, like reaching out to snow. I could feel it. There was a certain gentleness to him, at the time, I couldn’t place my hand on it.

“Yeah, her name is Chi-Chi. Though, I don’t know how she got out of the house. Is that right, Chi-Chi?” I gave my cat a mean death stare, while I pouted at her. He began laughing. And so did I. It felt a little weird for him to be crouching, so I walked over and gave him my hand. He looked at me all weird like, and I guess it was weird. I mean, shouldn’t it be the other way around? But he accepted it anyway, and I pulled him up. He was a bit taller than I was, probably still is. Once he realized that, even I began laughing. In the meantime, it looked like my cat had ran back to my home.

“So, why are you here? I’ve never seen you around,” I asked him.  He looked at me strange again. But I guess it was strange for a stranger to just say that.

“I could say the same to you. You’re from around here, but, I’ve never seen you either.” At the time, I realized he was from another school from his uniform, and I’m sure he did as well.

“Well, I can see that you’re not from my school.” I pointed at my uniform prudently.

“Oh! Right.” I couldn’t tell at the time if he was being serious. I mean, isn’t it quite obvious with a single look? But that’s why I admired him. What most people would see, he wouldn’t. Instead, he always saw, what I never could. He always looked past me, past what I could see, and even at times, what I wanted to see.

“So why are you here then? Your school shouldn’t have anything to do with this part of town,” I asked him, knowing full well that our schools were streets apart. Even if they wanted to take the long way home, they wouldn’t need to take this street. I didn’t know any students from around the area that went to his school. And trust me, I’ve been watching these streets ever since I started high school.

“It’s just…. today is, special, yeah.” He didn’t seem so confident in the supposed specialness of that day however. It all came off as, just lonely bantering to me. I couldn’t figure him out, so I gave him a questioning look.

“Really…. that’s all there is to it. Nothing more, nothing less. Just… another day.” He looked more down when he said this. More down than usual at least. There was a hint of sadness in his voice, and even his face was scrounging up. I didn’t know what to do at the time, other then try and console him.

“Just another day? Doesn’t look like it at all.” Actually, I think I gave him a pretty snide remark.

“Ha ha. Well I’ll be on my way then.”

“Hold on!” I reached out for him, without even realizing it. My hand was outstretched, but I slowly retracted, and placed it behind me, as if I was hiding it. He stared at me, wondering what I wanted, and even I was wondering that as well.

“Your name! I still don’t know your name! If we ever see each other, it’ll be rude if I just say ‘you’.” And then I said it. I asked for his name. It was out of the blue yeah, but I did it anyway. If not then, then when?

“My name?” He chuckled to himself, “It’s….. Tail.”

“Tail?” I hope you can guess how surprised I was when I heard his name was, “Tail”.

“Ha ha, that’s what my friends call me anyway.”

“Oh, so it’s just a nickname huh?” I thought about why he gave me just his nickname, but at the time, I guess I didn’t really mind. So I thought hard and decided to give him a nickname as well.

“Well, in that case, you can call me…. Winter?”

“Winter?”

“Well…” I didn’t want to tell him my name was Hailey, and the first thing that popped up in my mind when I heard “Hail-ey”, was snow, so… winter.

“Let’s leave it at that. You gave me a nickname, so I gave you one. We can just call each other by them, like a secret code or something.” And so I covered up my immaturity with that. It’s funny really, we still don’t know each other’s real names. But it’s fun, playing like this. I guess. It was fun sharing secrets. No matter how small or insignificant; It was something we shared, and that’s all that matters.

Leave a Reply

