Town of Living Gears, Part 4

Hello once again, and in these coming parts are going to be a whole lot of explanation, revelations, and progression of story. Once again, the main focus here isn’t to necessarily push what happens through any sort of huge set pieces involving actions but to go through it in a pace wherein most of the action is just dialogue based, which to my influence is very reminiscent of the works of all of the Monogatari series to those who have watched any of the Monogatari shows, they will understand what I mean. Nevertheless, here you go, “Part 4”.

Kloe was an informant. She had information on every citizen of the town, and information about everything that had happened since times past. She would not identify herself as a historian, but rather enjoyed keeping all the records to her own personal space. She deemed it necessary to have someone with the knowledge of those who have come and gone. But she also deemed it necessary to keep that information only to who wish to use it with great avail to the town. It seemed appropriate.

“I have all my notes here. Including notes on Klover. Though, I’ll still need to find them. But I do have something here for you.” Kloe had bundled a parchment in string and handed it to me. There was a faded seal upon where the string had tied the document, and it seemed to be a the initials of Klover Tore.

“I didn’t know him. He was a man far beyond my time. But I know enough about him, and have read some of the things he’s left behind to know that he wants you to read that.”

“Where did you find this?” My question extended to all of the artifacts that my late master had left. It was strange to know that he had his creations scattered among the town, which I had assumed to be the matter from the implications of the different people of the bar giving me different objects. I pressed my hand against the knife I had received, and then wondered what Klover could have used weapons like this for. I tried to run a logical parameter for it, but came to no real conclusion. My memory of him had been slowly fading with each passing day, but now it seemed to tell it’s tale. Klover was a peaceful man, I knew that much. But to need to hold armaments was a strange thing. At the time, I had not perceived such objects as a foreshadowing to what has yet to come. I had not acquired that yet; that humanistic feat.

“In the same place where we found most of Klover’s old stuff.”

“In his old workshop?” It seemed quite plausible, and it seemed to be the only explanation that I could garner. Though at the time, I had only learned of their way of giving names, and so I could never have guessed why Klover hid his novelties in the graveyard.

“You would think that wouldn’t you? No, not in his workshop. Not all of it. In fact, we found most of his stuff in the graveyard.”

“The graveyard?”

“Not many people here like going to the graveyard. I think that’s a given considering what the implications of it are. But that also makes it the best place to hide things. Grave robbers have always been a problem, but the grave wardens have employed robots as tools to stop that. At least, that’s what it seems like.”

“In such an instance, you were still able to gather the remains of Klover?”

“We studied their robots until we knew exactly when they would patrol and when they wouldn’t. It took quite some time until we unearthed what Klover had hidden down there. The key and that document was found there.” I felt my hand onto the key that Kloe had given me.

“Do you know what the key is for?” I asked. Kloe shook her head, “Perhaps that document will give us a clue.” I opened the document, untying the knot and asking to fill in the gaps of her question, “What else did you find in the graveyard?”

“A few manuscripts for some inventions that he couldn’t make, a few gold coins and a rare flower.” I placed the information into my preexisting data, and began making new compartments for them. I tried my hardest to compile as much new information about Klover to replace the old ones that were beginning to slip from me. I saw no real reason in doing so as I would never have been able to recover those lost memories, but something in me saw the need to keep his memory alive for as long as I could.

“Those inventions…Were they also weapons?” Kloe scrunched her mouth and entered a state of deep thought. I could tell that she was troubled by the thoughts of having to recall the blueprints of the late master. Though, despite her hesitant nature, she relaxed and said, “They were weapons not belonging to this era.”

“Not belonging to this era? You mean to say that they were advanced?”

“That’s one way to put it. But not just advanced. They were scary.” The sudden image of Wren’s model rifle had been highlighted in my database. It was something that I could not understand, nor come to understand at the time. But knowing now, it’s a very complex and very dangerous arm that behests the user with destructive power to crumble a country.

“Please explain.” She chuckled and then pointed to the document in my hands.

“Read.” I complied, hoping that she would answer my questions and conform with my database as the day went along, or in the near future. For some reason, I felt something that I only now understand as dread. A feeling of dread overwhelmed me of what those documents contained and perhaps my image of Klover that I had been constructing, was becoming negative. Something about the whole situation made my database run a multitude of loops and errors occurred in tandem. I opened the document in my hand, and scanned the paper. I read it aloud for Kloe.

“Reading this signifies the end of days. It signifies the start of a revolution, and something that I have been dreaming of since the day I met with Adam and Evelyn, the progenitors of the race known as robots. Reading this means that you are one step closer to finding out your purpose, and one step closer to putting an end to the inevitable perish of humanism in your race. I live in a time of peace and prosperity, and even when those who came to us with the dark soul gave us power, we still lived in tandem with them. But that time will be corrupted. The age of fire will subside and the age of man will revolutionize the world. Technology will grow, and with it I have enclosed the manuals of war. Do with it what you will, but know that my will is to end this world before it prospers into something greater and much more dangerous. That is what I have entrusted you to do, and with all the logic in the world, see to it that you will end it, even if it seems illogical.” I compiled every word of every sentence after reading so that I can conform to what Klover’s final will is. My purpose, leading up to everything including my logistical formation is all illogical. Klover claims that he wants me to destroy everything, and yet he has created me. He wants me to destroy myself along with the world around me. Or so that is how I thought of it. That was the conclusion that I had arisen to. The world has betrayed those of the living, and thus with Klover’s wrath, he wishes me to end all that remains of what was once great. It is with great irony, at the time, that I, who was destined to be a tool for war, a weapon, was trying to be human. At the time, the word never occurred to me, I searched long and hard in my database, but the idea of a growing martyr, a person who is contrived with the sole purpose of sacrificing themselves to end it all, was non-existent. But that wasn’t the end of it for my systems. I still wanted to know why. I couldn’t come to understand the hatred of the world, and the fear that Klover had. The world to me at the time, was perfectly logical.

“It’s strange, isn’t it? To hear something like that from the person who made you.” Kloe laughed, she laughed and laughed, until she could laugh no more. But I knew that she derived no joy from her laughter, only a strange sense of pity and sadness. Her eyes were downcast, and I’m sure her pulse was erratic. She then sighed and said, “I kind of thought that it might have been something like that.” Such a statement was something that pushed beyond the boundaries of conventional logistics. I could hardly fathom it, and neither could she, I was sure. Everything led me to be sure of that thought. My gears were turning, my systems looping and new results were being made from those equations. Everything in my head was coming together to try and make something out of seemingly nothing. And in the midst of it, grew frustration.

“It can’t be.” My hands were shaking, and I felt my body exude a strange warmth throughout. Kloe looked at me with wide eyes, and an open mouth, and before my urges to rip the document in front of me cajoled me, I placed the document down and then slammed the table. I was panting at this point, somehow.

“That’s not why I was made. That can’t be why I was made. It can’t be.” My voice was raising, the metallic tang was beginning to dissipate, I heard. I wanted to crush the table under my hands, and I wanted to erase everything that I had learned. But that simply wasn’t the case. My emotions, somehow, wherever thereof, were getting the better of me. Except, I wasn’t human. Except, I’m not human. And so my logic prevailed me. I calmed down, my systems cooled. And I had nothing to do but to accept this fate.

“I just have no reasons for why that is the case. This town, this world…I must learn of why it is so detested by my late master. That is the only way I can find sanctum for destroying it. Kloe, will you help me in this?” Kloe smiled. I found no reason for such an action. She smiled, and then took the document from the table. She then stretched her arms to her sides and in a single breath, almost yelled, “I’m the only damn informant here. Let’s do this. We know why you were made. But we don’t know why exactly, is your concern. I can tell you why. I’ll show you around. Let’s stroll around.” Kloe grabbed my hand, and dragged me out of her library. At that point, I felt powerless to everything around me. My systems were shutting and soon I could feel the cold iron of my hands be warmed by her unnaturally humanistic flesh. Something in me wanted to fight my fate. I didn’t want this world to perish, but perhaps that was a selfish wish. After all, it seemed that I was the only one who enjoyed life. But, that was a life, that I once had nearly a century ago. A life with Klover, not with Wren. A life where I played with the citizens, and now I live a life where those citizens hide in bars. Despite the apparent chains that the humans have wrapped around robots, I found it logically more sound to say that the humans were the ones chained.

Leave a Reply

