Summer’s End

Hello once again and this time an actual recent piece, not a back log. This one was written at the cusp of summer’s end, as you might guess from the title. It’s a piece that came about as a kind of angry piece of the ending seasons, though itself is not one filled with anger. There are undertones of this acceptance that when one season ends, that the next one will be virtually different. It’s this idea of movement, that time moves on whether you like it or not, that life moves on past summer’s end. A cyclical piece considering all the characters will live on, and this will all repeat on the next end. 

The world is crumbling today, the world and everything about it is going to end on this day. Today marks the day where buildings fall, people die, and birds are shot down. Today marks the day of mass hysteria, of apocalypse, and of the plague across our fields. Today marks the day of final rest, the day where we will all realize how futile our lives have been up until this day. Today marks summer’s end.

“When you say it like that, you make me worry that the world might actually end.”

“That’s not an uncommon worry. It’s quite the truth actually. A truth that not many can come to muster down their throats.”

“It’s a truth that you made?”

“It’s a truth that I made.” She smiled.

“Then it must be true then, after all, you made it.” It was a devious smile, a smile that showed our playful natures. I enjoyed the rapport we had, the way we spoke of things so freely and with so much jest. There was never a moment where any of my antics would cause great distress. She only knew levity. That much wasn’t so bad. Levity proved to be a medicine for anathema.

“But it can only be true because you believe it to be true. Nothing in this world is ever true because of chance. It’s the people that places their beliefs and their trust in facts that make it true.”

“So what you’re saying is that the sun is only the sun because we say it’s the sun. Because we believe that a circle is a circle and that it can produce powers to make the hydrogen bomb look like a toy. That it provides heat to us by invisible rays and that an invisible layer over our heads is what absorbs most of it. That UV rays cause cancer.” I laughed at that, and so did she.

“No, well, those things are the truth because of scientific reasoning. The scientific method was created to test out the truths that we have created, and even then most of those truths are just lies that are twisted to be true. If we wanted, the sun could have been called the moon, the rays could have been called waves, and the moon suddenly controls waves.”

“Most science is overzealous lies. That’s why we never hear definitive answers. That’s why science only works 99.9% to the tee. That last point of a percentage is lost to dark matter.”

“Well, it won’t matter by the end of the day anyway. The world is ending, as I say. The world will end on this day. We’ll see buildings crumble, people–”

“Die. People will die, and we’ll die, right?” She looked at me again, with the same smile she always had when we talked about pointless things. She smiled from eye to eye, from one corner of her mouth to the other, with her cheeks flushed peach, and her heterochromia filled eyes hidden away. When she opened them again, I saw a forest in one, and an arid desert in another. She didn’t like it when I stared, so I looked away aptly, back out of the living room window where I got an entire view of the world. I waited for that world to crumble, I’ve been waiting for it ever since I created this impression of the world. Ever since I created this place where I could live in, this place where I could call a home, I’ve been waiting for the world to crumble.

“You’ve waited long enough, haven’t you?” She asked. I shook my head.

“I’ve waited just long enough for it to happen. Can’t you see? Everything I’ve ever wanted will come now.”

“Do you want the world to end?” I looked back out of the window, and peered into the essence of humanity. What people were designed to do was survive. From birth, toddlers are given the basic functions to eat, breathe, swallow, regulate blood, and call for help. Preceding those early days, much people take for granted the functions given to them. Many people don’t think about eating, breathing, swallowing, their blood flow, or the social system set in place to regulate crimes. In fact, people are so taken for granted, that they take too much of what they can handle, and leave a fraction of the population missing many of these basic necessities. In essence, they have been stripped of their humanity. In which case, they are no longer humans, though the majority is too blindsided to admit that. The human race split itself in two when they learned the word greed and selfishness. People tend to differ between skin color, which is a highly idiotic juncture as the chemicals and genetic information made to create color of skin does nothing but make one appear different. But, it isn’t all that idiotic, as that way of splitting people hides the fact that they split between the needy and the not. The fact that with nearly seven billion on the planet and not even all seven billion can be accounted for with having safe access to basic necessities is what had driven this race to complete extinction. Or, will in fact do it by the end of this day.

“It’s not my place whether I want the world to end. The world will end soon enough whether I want it to or not. But it will end today. Summer’s end.”

“And we can’t do anything about it?”

“Maybe we can, maybe we can’t. I wouldn’t know. And I don’t care to know. Do you want the world to end?” She thought about it, she scrunched up her eyebrows, and placed one finger on her mouth in a manner in which no one does. She then looked at me with her dual colored eyes and smiled, “Let’s see that for ourselves.” She then snapped her fingers.

I always told her that her hair stood out no matter what season it was. She had dyed it light blue, but her hair was very thin and long, so it stuck out behind her like blue yarn coming out of a bundle. I always laughed when I thought about it like that. Even though she hated it when I laughed at her, she still smiled the same smile and walked on proudly. She loved her blue hair. She also wore a red bow on top of her head to make herself stand out even more. No one dyed their hair blue like that, and no one wore a red bow on their head like that either. No one had a forest in their eyes, and no one had a desert either. The day was scorching above us, leaving our every step left in sweat and pants. But, she didn’t mind either. I didn’t mind either.

“So what’re we looking for anyway?” I asked.

“Something for me to hate, or something for me to love. It’ll be a game.”

“A game?”

“Whoever has more things they love in this world than hates, wins.” I decided to play along, and so on our scorching walk across the city I began making mental notes of everything around me. I began putting things in one category, putting things in another category, and re thinking my placements. For example, when I saw a lady talking on the phone and yelling way too loudly, I said to myself, hate. When the dog that she was leashing around began barking at everyone walking near it, hate. When the lady bumped into the trash can because she was too busy yelling and spilt some of the overflowing trash on the floor but didn’t pick it up, hate. When the man who walked beside her saw this happen but walked on without worry, hate. When he would inevitably pick up his phone, scoff at it and not pick up, love. When his friend says hello to him as he walks towards the intersection and the kid of his friend is too scared to say hello, love. But, I would never be without hating things. I would never find something I love without having two more things I hate. I would never come to love the birds above making rounds to the people below. I would never come to love the outrageous tricks that people use to cut down on store prices only to make marginal profits of their own. I would never come to love the people who think it’s alright to leave stray children on the streets. I would never come to love the people who physically harm others for personal gain. I would never come to love public homicide. Or self-flagellation. Or unjust arrest. This world is filled with things that I hate. It seems ardent for me to even say that I love anything in this world. This day is going to end and I won’t have more loves than hate. Summer’s end.

“So? How many do you have?” She asked.

“Too much for me to count. Definitely not more loves. How about you?”

“I win.”

“Oh yeah? What were the loves?”

“There were only two things in this world that I look at. You, and me.” I laughed. I laughed and I smiled, so did she.

“That isn’t fair,” I said, “You never told me that.”

“It’s totally fair. This world only ever needs to be a world that you make. Everything in this world is yours alone, it’s what you make of it. You and me. That’s my world.” I couldn’t help but be amazed. She never ceases to amaze me, to surprise me, to make things seem new to me. She never ceases to make me laugh, to make me think, to inspire me. She is the only person in this world, the only anomaly, the only entity, that I can say with great certainty, that I love.

“You found things you love. But what about something you hate?” I asked.

“I don’t like hating things. But if I had to say one thing I hate, I’d say, the end of the day. Summer’s end.”  She snapped her fingers.

“So? Do you want the world to end?” I asked.

“The world’s fine as is. There will always be things wrong with it. There will always be things that you hate, that I love, that you love, that I hate. But the world is filled with so much more good if you’re just open enough about it.”

“And even if I am, will those things justify the world to continue? Will the world be enough even then?”

“The world will never be enough for you. It’ll never be enough for everyone living in it. But you have to make do with what you have. This is the only world we have. It’s the only world we know. It’s the only home we have left. The only thing we can do is make the most out of it.”

“But even so, the world will end today. The world will end, the buildings will crumble, the people will–”

“Die. The people will die. The birds will be shot out of the sky, and the fields will be razed with disease. Summer’s–”

“End.” I turned away from her to look at the clock. There was a single minute left till the end of the day. We sat in silence looking out of the living room window for a minute, and once the clock struck twelve, we opened our eyes into a new world. A world devoid of the previous life that it once inhabited. A world of new customs, of new hates and of new loves. A world that is different from the last, but still retaining some essence of the last. A world after the summer’s end.

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

